Celebrating 10 years of CMAM

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of the CMAM inauguration, which took place on March 23  2003, the UAM and the Centre organize a two days event. On March 11 the Rector of the UAM, prof. José Maria Sanz Martinez will chair the official celebration ceremony which will take place in the theatre of Pavillion C having as special guest the first CMAM director, prof. Fernando Agulló López. On March 12 (same site) the CMAM former director, prof. Aurelio Climent Font will chair a scientific day where the major achievements of the ten years activity will be reviewed by the CMAM members and collaborators.


The programme is a two days session. To download the programme, click here.

Monday 11 march 2013 17:00-18:00

Celebration ceremony chaired by the UAM rector Prof. José María Sanz Martínez

  • 17:00-17:10 - Welcome address, Alessandro Zucchiatti, Director of CMAM
  • 17:10-17:40 - The Madrid 5 MV accelerator. An innovative laboratory in Spain Prof. Fernando Agulló López, first CMAM director
  • 17:40-18:00 - Address of the UAM rector Prof. José María Sanz Martínez
  • 18:00 - Cocktail

Tuesday 12 march 2013 9:00-18:00

Scientific Day at the CMAM chaired by Prof. Aurelio Climent-Font former CMAM director


Time Tuesday 12
9:00-9:40 Frédérico Garrido (invited speaker)
Study of materials properties with ion beam channeling
9:40-10:10 Alessandro Zucchiatti
Overview of the CMAM
10:10-10:40 José Olivares
Modification of the optical properties of materials with ions at CMAM
10:40-11:00 María Dolores Ynsa
The potential of CMAM for biological research studies
11:00-11:30 Coffee break
11:30-12:00 Andrés Redondo
Applications of ion beam techniques to semiconductor materials
12:00-12:20 Alessandro Zucchiatti
Multi-disciplinary analysis of Cultural Heritage Objects
12:20-12:50 Miguel Angel Ramos
Ion beam induced magnetism in pure carbon materials
12:50-14:30 Lunch break
14:30-15:00 Aurelio Climent Font
Modification of the surface of materials for biological applications
15:00-15:30 David Jiménez Rey
Modification and analysis of structural and functional materials for energy production
15:30-16:00 Olof Tengblad
Nuclear physics at the CMAM
16:00-16:20 José Emilio Prieto
Surface science studies at CMAM: perspectives
16:20-16:50 Coffee Break
16:50-18:00 Meeting of the CMAM scientific advisory committee